Information

Vegetarian


What is a vegetarian? Definition:

vegetarianism (English vegetable = vegetable / plant) is a diet that completely on fish, meat and seafood (mussels, cuttlefish, shrimp, crab, etc.) is omitted. On the other hand, products of live animals, e.g. Eggs, milk or cheese.
Although vegetarianism is one of the best-known diets, the share of vegetarians in Germany below 3%. This number of vegetarians is then divided into the different forms of vegetarianism:

Forms of vegetarianism

Classic vegetarianism: The most consistent form of vegetarianism, in which all products of animal origin (fish, meat, eggs, cheese, milk) are not consumed.
Ovo vegetarians: Abandon fish and meat. Eggs are eaten (lat. Ovum = egg), milk products are not.
Lacto-vegetarians: Abandon fish and meat. Dairy products are eaten (Latin lac = milk), eggs are not.
Ovo-lacto-vegetarians: Abandon fish and meat. Eggs and dairy products are consumed.
veganism: In principle very similar to the classic vegetarianism. Vegans dispense with all products of animal origin.
FrutarianIn addition to renunciation of animal products of any kind (fish, meat, milk, cheese, honey), plants that are damaged or destroyed at harvest (such as potatoes, carrots, roots) are also forbidden. Renewable fruits (such as bananas, apples or plums) are in the center of the diet because the tree survives even after harvest.

Which foods do vegetarians eat?

foodAllowed?
alcohol
Bread and rolls
eggs
fish
meat
Geflьgel
Gemьse
Grain
Hьlsenfrьchte
Kдse
potatoes
Krдuter
Meeresfrьchte
milk
Nьsse
fruit
mushrooms
rice